7/24 Support +90 542 341 25 50

Ephesus Odeon

Ephesus Basilica

The odeon, built into the south slope of Panayır Dağı, is like a small theater. Its location north of the state agora and next to the prytaneion suggests that it also fulfilled the function of a bouleuterion (meeting place of the council of elders, or senate). An inscription tells us that Publius Vedius a Antoninus built the odeon in the middle of the second century CE. At the beginning of its excavation, archaeologists searched for traces of an earlier structure and uncovered various finds from the Hellenistic period. Except for the outer wall of the odeon, howewer, which was characteristic for the Hellenistic era, no other structural remains from this period could be recovered. 

The Ephesus Museum continued the excavations and restorations in the seventies , and in 1990; as a result of this , the odeon has again taken on its original form. The odeon seats about 1500 spectators. It comprises three sections; the cavea, the orchestra, and the  skene.  Two diazoma, and five radial aisles, divide the semircircular cavea. The audience could enter the odeon through two symmetrical vaulted entrances in the west and the east.

A narrow podium stands above the no channels    in the orchestra for the drainage of rainwater, the odeon must have been roofed. The roof would probably have been wooden. Like many other structures at Ephesus, the odeon collapsed during a severe earthquake in the fourth century. The marble slabs forming the seats were reused in later restorations of other buildings.